MERCY

The charge was read
And I was guilty
A gush of death
And I was sinking
No where to hide
No joy in sight
Then came the lamb
……mercy

Chains dangled in threat
And I was wilting
Tears wouldn’t cure
The rot that I had incured
Laden with terror
Helpless in wrath’s tremor
He reached out for me
At just the moment of my life
…….mercy

Traveller I am
This I know
Human I am
Truth be told
However this much I also know
I have no debt to pay to death
No guilt to fear from hell
No stains to ruin my garment
Mercy has spoken loud and bold
Breaking the curse, crushing death’s hold
Son of a covenant
Heir of God,
I am a man
For whom mercy spoke

Please leave a reply

